Extract from Hansard

[COUNCIL - Tuesday, 19 October 2004] p6745b-6745b Hon Murray Criddle; Hon Nick Griffiths

JURIEN, KALBARRI, MOORA, MULLEWA AND NORTHAMPTON POLICE STATIONS

798. Hon MURRAY CRIDDLE to the minister representing the Minister for Police and Emergency Services:

For each of the following police stations at Jurien, Kalbarri, Moora, Mullewa and Northampton I ask, in a normal eight-hour working shift at each station -

- (1) How many police officers are on duty?
- (2) How many hours are spent on traffic patrol?
- (3) How many hours are spent on general patrol and inquiry duties?
- (4) How many hours are spent on office duties?
- (5) Given the large areas to travel on traffic patrol, which of the listed stations have been provided with a dedicated traffic patrol vehicle?

Hon NICK GRIFFITHS replied:

I thank the honourable member for some notice of this question. The Minister for Police and Emergency Services provides the following response -

- (1) The Western Australia Police Service advises that due to operational sensitivity, staffing numbers below district level are not provided. As at 30 September 2004 the wheatbelt district, which includes Jurien and Moora, had an authorised strength of 150; and the mid west Gascoyne district, which includes Kalbarri, Mullewa and Northampton, had an authorised strength of 205, an increase from 201 in January 2001.
- (2)-(4) The Police Service advises that officers attached to all stations are required to perform traffic, general patrol, inquiry and office duties as dictated by the operational requirements of each shift. Outside these requirements, each station, with the exception of Kalbarri, performs its own designated traffic and highway patrols.
- (5) The Police Service advises that the superintendents responsible for the stations listed have been allocated a vehicle fleet to service each district. These vehicles are distributed at the sole discretion of the district superintendent depending on the operational requirements of each subdistrict. All the stations listed, with the exception of Kalbarri, have been allocated a traffic vehicle.